Invictus—Movie Review

Invictus is based on the book, Playing The Enemy: Nelson Mandela And The Game That Changed a Nation, by John Carlin. Directed by Clint Eastwood (screenplay by Anthony Peckham), Invictus was recommended to me as a must-see movie. So, based on that recommendation and Clint Eastwood’s track record as a filmmaker, I decided to see it. I was expecting some treacle, ” kumbayah” film, but I was very wrong and thankfully so. Invictus has a compelling story to tell, is well-acted, and the rugby games are absolutely great!

As recently elected President Mandela, Morgan Freeman literally embodies the role. Early in his first-term, against the advice of his closest advisors, Mandela decides to use the South African rugby team, the Springboks, and the 1995 Rugby World Cup as something around which the entire country can unite, regardless of race. He enlists the assistance of team captain,  François Pienaar (well-played by Matt Damon), who helps motivate his underdog South African team.

I admit that I know nothing about rugby, so I don’t know how well-cast the actors are, but the games are extremely entertaining and have a new fan in me. Far more exciting than soccer, it’s more like American football but without the padding, helmets or even long pants.

Invictus is not ground-breaking filmmaking, but its actors tell the little-know story well.

2 ½ nuggets out of 4

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Invictus—Movie Review”

  1. Kristian Mattias Says:

    Nice blog. I got a lot of effective data. I’ve been following this technology for awhile. It’s fascinating how it keeps changing, yet some of the core factors stay the same. Have you seen much change since Google made their latest acquisition in the domain?

    Like

    • Joan Fuchsman Says:

      Thanks. I’m a newbie at this so I can’t comment on changes from the past. I do look forward to seeing what changes they might make.

      Like

Leave a Reply

